Is Apple Juice Gluten Free? Find Out Here!

Is Apple Juice Gluten Free? Find Out Here!

Does Apple Juice Have Gluten In It?

Apple juice has been hailed as one of the healthiest drinks around and is often used as an alternative to soda. 

Apple juice drinks have always been popular amongst people who want to slim down. It contains fiber, potassium, and vitamin C, which helps to boost metabolism.

However, there is another reason apple juice blend is a popular drink – it also contains gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and oats. People often confuse gluten with lactose.

Both contain proteins; however, only gluten causes digestive issues such as bloating, gas, cramping, and diarrhea.

If you have an allergy to gluten, then you should watch out for apple juice because it contains gluten.

If you think you are suffering from gluten intolerance, you should definitely try drinking organic vegetable choices in juices instead. They are free of gluten and provide you with the same benefits as apple brands of juice.

Why Apple Juice contain Gluten?

Apple juice drinks contain gluten because apples are grown from seeds that contain proteins called gluten. The only way to remove gluten from apple juice is through a specialized process called “gluten removal.”

After removing the gluten, many companies use heat treatment to kill bacteria present in the delicious juice. However, heating apple juice can lead to caramelization, which is undesirable for many consumers.

If you look at the ingredient substitutions list for apple fruit juices, you’ll notice that it contains glucose syrup – which is derived from corn.

Although it tastes like apples, when we drink note on apple juice blends, we actually ingest refined sugar.

This sugar comes from glucose, a naturally occurring substance found in fruits and vegetables such as bananas, pears, grapes, onions, and carrots.

The problem with glucose is that it is highly reactive and therefore has been used in food processing to help thicken sauces and preserve foods.

Which brands of bottled juices are Gluten-Free?

Most packaged frozen juice is gluten-free. However, it is best to read labels on green juice packages carefully.

If the label says “contains gluten,” do not consume it. Some juice products contain small amounts of gluten, which is safe for those who are allergic to gluten.

There are several types of gluten-free juice cocktails today, from 100 percent actual fruit juice to apple juice. However, only one brand makes all of its juices Gluten-Free.

This is because they are planned using a proprietary method that removes gluten from the ingredient selections. 

The following brands of bottled juices are gluten-free:

  • Dole
  • Lipton ice tea
  • Minute Maid
  • Fanta Orange
  • Simply Orange
  • Ocean Spray Cranberry Juice
  • Sunkist
  • Sunkist Peach
  • Tropicana
  • V8 juices
  • Orange juice medium pulp with calcium

Health Benefits of Apple Juice

Drinking apple juice has been proven to be beneficial for overall health. However, apple juice should only replace water when you are thirsty or exercising since it could affect blood sugar levels.

The health benefits of apple juice include:

1. Prevention of cancer, diabetes, heart disease, osteoporosis, and eye diseases.

2. Drinking apple juice every day has been shown to reduce them;

  • Risk of obesity
  • Lower cholesterol levels
  • Relieve constipation
  • Increase energy levels
  • Boost metabolism
  • Prevent kidney stones
  • Help control blood sugar
  • And fight off colds.

3. Apple juice contains polyphenols, antioxidants that help protect the body from cell damage caused by oxidative stress.

4. Apples contain magnesium. Magnesium is an essential mineral for energy production and muscle contraction.

People who consume large amounts of fruits and vegetables have lower incidences of chronic diseases such as cancer, diabetes, hypertension, and stroke.

Final Thoughts

Most store-bought apple juice is not gluten-free. While some manufacturers use processing aids and equipment that are cleaned and sanitized in a way that eliminates most gluten containing ingredients.

I suggest you use caution and check with the manufacturer before using store-bought apple juice in gluten-free diet gluten.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *