Do Eggs Contain Dairy? – Our Guide
If you’ve recently been told by your doctor that you need to avoid dairy products, you might be wondering if eggs fall under this dairy allergy or if you can continue to eat them?
Eggs are fine to eat on a dairy-free diet and do not contain dairy inside them. Bird eggs are not classed as dairy because they come from a mammal, not the mammal’s milk, which is where dairy products are derived from.
We’ve discussed in more detail below what dairy means, why people confuse eggs with dairy, if eggs are good for you and which food products to avoid on a dairy-free diet.
What Does Dairy Mean?
To clear up why eggs do not come under the dairy category, let’s first discuss what dairy means.
The definition of dairy is any products which come from the milk of animals such as a cow or sheep, for example, this could include, milk, butter or cheese.
Read this article to know more about Are Dairy Gluten-Free Foods
Why Do People Confuse Eggs With Dairy?
People often associate eggs with dairy because they are stored down the same supermarket aisle together, vegetarians and vegans also tend to avoid eggs since they come from an animal.
The two things eggs have in common with dairy products are that they are high in protein and both are technically animal products.
Are Eggs Good For You?
If you’re going through an elimination diet and you’re not sure whether or not eggs are good for you.
We’ve listed out some pros and cons to including eggs in your diet down below.
- They are high in nutrients – Eggs are a very nutritious food, containing nearly all the vitamins one needs in a single egg and are fairly low in calories.
- Can raise HDL – HDL is the good cholesterol in the body, eating two eggs a day for six weeks can raise this and help lower the chances of heart disease.
- Helps eye health – Lutein and zeaxanthin are both found in eggs and are antioxidants which are excellent for eye health and help the strength of the retina in particular.
- Contains choline – Choline is very important for the body to build cell membranes, eggs are a source of this B vitamin, one egg contains more than 100mg of this.
- High in protein – Eggs are a great source of protein with one egg containing up to 6 grams of protein. They also provide essential amino acids to the body.
Can I Eat Eggs If I Am Lactose Intolerant?
Lactose intolerant means that your body cannot digest dairy products properly, since eggs do not come from the milk of mammals and are not classed as a dairy product, they are fine to eat if you are lactose intolerant.
Which Food Products Contain Dairy?
If you’ve recently been diagnosed as lactose intolerant, you might have been told to avoid all dairy products and opt for lactose-free cheeses instead or soy-based cheeses for example.
For milk you would need to switch to nut-based milk or soya/oat milk to avoid milk proteins, you also need to be careful when it comes to products like chocolate which often contain dairy. Read this article about Is Soy Milk Gluten Free to find out more.
We’ve listed which dairy products to avoid below.
- Ice cream.
- Some chocolate.
Ever wonder if Does Bread Have Eggs? Find out here.
To conclude, eggs are fine to eat on a dairy-free diet since they do not contain dairy, you would want to avoid eggs if you are a vegan or some vegetarians since they are an animal product.
Dairy products come from the milk of a mammal, and people who are lactose intolerant cannot digest this protein properly, hence why they have to avoid dairy-based products like milk or cheese.
I know you love
Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!