Is Guar Gum Gluten Free? Read Here!
Guar gum, a very water-soluble fiber, is made from the ground-up seed of a guar plant. It is a common ingredient in many foods and beverages and is used in several medicines and medical procedures.
Guar gum is a natural fiber used to thicken food, specifically sauces, and soups. It’s found in Indian cuisine where it is added to curries, dals, and gravies.
Since the 1940s guar gum has been popular among nutritionists because it’s considered an effective bulking agent.
And while scientists were initially skeptical, recent research shows that guar gum truly does bulk up the food.
In this article, we will find out if guar gum has gluten on it. So, keep on reading!
Is it gluten free?
Guar is a natural product that is used in many different countries in the world, including Asia, Africa, and Latin America, to be used in foods that are commonly consumed in these regions.
Guar gum is made from the seed of the guar plant. The seed is dried in the sun, after which it is cracked.
For the production of the bulk of the guar gum, the process involves mixing the cracked guar seed with water, in order for the mixture to become a slurry.
The slurry is filtered in order for evaporation to occur. During evaporation, the water in the slurry is evaporated. The product is then dried.
According to the FDA, there is no gluten in guar gum, however, there are several brands that have been investigated for it.
Guar gum is used in gluten free diet food products because of its ability to bind water. It has a thickening effect on liquids and foods.
In fact, guar gum accounts for over 10% of the total dietary fiber intake in the United States.
However, while guar gum can be added to other foods such as cereals, bread, and pasta, it cannot be considered gluten free since it contains wheat protein.
How does it benefit Health?
Guar gum is a natural polymer got from guar beans. It has been used as a food additive since 1876.
In modern times, it is mostly used as an emulsifier in dairy processing, cosmetics, laundry detergents, toothpaste, ice cream, baked goods, chewing gums, confectioneries, etc.
- The key thing here is that it comprises an abundant source of fiber. Fiber helps people keep their digestive tract healthy.
- They also help in preventing constipation. Fiber is present in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts, seeds, legumes and dairy products.
- Guar bean has high water binding capacity, which makes it useful for thickening foods such as pies and pastries.
- It also absorbs fat and cholesterol from the digestive tract, keeping people feeling fuller longer and reducing bloating.
- It’s also used in food industry applications to provide texture, improve shelf life, reduce stickiness and control moisture levels.
Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!