Skip to content

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten-Free? Find Out Here!

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten-Free?

A cup of coffee is the best way to start the day for many people, and coffee is consistently among America’s favorite flavors. Pleasantly bitter, the milk derivative coffee creamers are popular additions to you early morning drink, although it isn’t incredibly popular abroad.

Is coffee creamer gluten free? Yes! Buying plain Coffee Mate for your Nestle Coffee is fine for a gluten free diet, and those with celiac disease. However, if your milk derivative has an Artificial Flavor then you need to be careful. 

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten-Free?

Vanilla All-Natural Liquid Coffee Creamer, for example, may contain traces of gluten. If your daily diet has allergen requirements, then you will need to be careful with what creamer you choose to pair with your nestle coffee and read the product label. 

Coffee Mate Creamers generally remain gluten free and ideal for the celiac tribe, although allergies to dairy are harder to fix. Dairy free coffee creamers are few and far between, and you may need to find other alternatives to creamer. 

Here’s a processed creamer we have as an alternative. Find out here Is BelVita Healthy?

What is Creamer?

Sold commercially in most convenience stores, coffee creamer is a milk substitute for coffee and tea popular in the United States. Perfect for those with a wheat allergy to avoid gluten ataxia, creamer can add a flavorful deliciousness when sweetened with cane sugar.

For an iced coffee where dairy makes the core component of the drink, creamer is not a a popular choice. Powdered or Coffee Mate Liquid Creamer can both be dairy alternatives to milk or half and half (a mix of milk and heavy cream). 

Cold coffee with Coffee Mate is less popular than with a warm cup in the morning, but a bottle of non-dairy creamer remains popular in most households. Especially in the homes of Jewish Americans, who must avoid dairy for religious reasons close to the consumption of kosher meats and meals.

Creamer Alternatives

If you dislike original coffee creamer, also known as coffee whitener when used in a black coffee, then you may find other coffee flavorings more preferable. A creamy morning coffee is the best way to start your day.

Creamer Alternatives

If you don’t suffer a lactose intolerance and don’t need a bottle of non-dairy creamer on hand, then milk pairs well with a morning coffee. Full fat milk or 1-2% milk, as well as anything in between, are a perfect coffee companion for those without a milk allergen. 

If you do have a milk allergen and can’t drink the milk protein known as lactose, then try plant based milks instead. With essentially the same taste, almond milk has all the pros of milk without the milk protein to cause stomach and bowel distress. 

Almond milk creamer is also popular, as well as other brans like Chobani oat milk. Almond milk, cashew milk, oat milk, and soy milk are the go to for vegans and for lactose allergic people all over the Western world. 

Good to know: Is Baklava Vegan?

Is Coffee Gluten Free?

If you’re looking to avoid gluten containing ingredients, then coffee is fine for you. Read the actual product packaging for the ingredient declaration, especially with brands like Nestle coffee who handle many gluten products, for signs of additional ingredients or cross contamination. 

Other than nestle coffee, plain coffee beans are naturally gluten free. However iced coffee and other flavored coffees can contain syrups with the gluten protein. The more ingredients in your flavored coffees, the higher the risk of cross contamination. 

Coffee flavorings make great coffee companions on especially hot days, with especially cold coffees. Both instant coffee and ground coffee on their own are gluten free, so you shouldn’t be too worried about enjoying ground coffee in your coffee machine or instant coffee with a kettle. 

Other coffees, like CBD coffee which is now popular in California and Colorado, are just as gluten free as regular caffeinated coffee. So feel free to fill your creamy morning coffee with Coffee Mate to start your day, and double check your flavored coffees before ordering them. 

Fruity teas are gluten free, and can be a good substitute for coffee. In fact, most cups of tea will contain more caffeine than your average cup of coffee. So if you’re a fan of double espresso, then try switching to a black, green, or fruit tea for flavor variety.

Is Sugar Gluten Free?

Sugar is commonly put into coffee, with granulated cane sugar remaining the most popular in American households. While brown sugar is also used, artificial sweetners are popular with those looking to lose weight on a diet. 

Is Sugar Gluten Free?

Your average tablespoon of sugar is naturally gluten free, and ideal for a gluten free diet. Although a tablespoon of sugar is typically excessive, and you’ll want to use a teaspoon for your hot drinks instead. If you use artificial sweeteners for your favorite flavors, check the nutrition advice for signs of gluten.

Read more this article to find out Is Cane Sugar Vegan?

Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *