Is Licorice Gluten Free? Find Out Here!

Is Licorice Gluten Free? Find Out Here!

What Is Licorice?

Licorice is an herb that is used in many remedies. It is most commonly known for its ability to relieve coughs.

The roots contain glycyrrhizin, an active ingredient that helps lower cholesterol levels, reduce high blood pressure, and support healthy liver function.

Many cultures also believe that it can boost the immune system and help with treating allergies.

It also does not contain coumarin like most herbs do, coumarin is toxic to the human body in large amounts.

However, licorice isn’t known for being a health food item. Some people report having diarrhea after eating too much licorice. Other side effects include stomach pain, upset stomach, vomiting, and nausea.

In this article, we will find out the benefits of licorice and if it has gluten in it. So, keep on reading!

Is it gluten-free?

Gluten-free products are made by mixing up ingredients that do not contain gluten.

This can sometimes make them taste a little bit bland, but that is just because the flavors of licorice that are mixed.

Licorice root does not contain any gluten however, licorice root extract and brands of licorice flavor pills have gluten.

Many licorice products are sold as “natural”, “herbal” and “organic”, therefore, some products are gluten-free. 

There is a lot of confusion about licorice plant and different products that can contain it.

For many years, it was the only commercially available gluten-free candy, but now there are many options available to those who need a safe alternative to gluten.

Licorice is made from glycyrrhiza glabra which is derived from licorice root tea.

Glycyrrhizin is an active ingredient found in the roots of licorice and has been used for centuries for medicinal.

Glycyrrhiza glaboera is commonly known as “licorice” or “glycyrrhiza”.

Homemade licorice recipes

Licorice has to be one of those candies that everyone likes. They have an odd taste which makes them taste great. Unfortunately, most licorice out there is not that great and is quite expensive.

If you do some research you find that there are several different recipes that you can make at home for a lot less money and you have all of the ingredients right on hand.

To make this simple Licorice you are going to need the following ingredients:

1. 1 lb. of Licorice Powder

2. 1/2 cup of Liquid Glucose

3. 1 cup of water

4. 2 cinnamon sticks

5. 1 cup of white sugar

6. 1 cup of corn syrup

7. 1/2 cup of heavy cream

8. 3 tsp. of Water

9. 1 cup of Glycerin

10. 4 cups of coconut oil

11. 12 oz of Orange oil

12. 1 tsp of pink food color

Method:

Step 1: First, add all the ingredients except the water, glycerin, coconut oil, and orange oil into a bowl. You are going to want to mix all the powders and then add the water and glycerin.

You want to mix some of the powder with the liquids and then you want to get all the remaining powders added in to the mix. At this point, you can put the bowl in the fridge.

Step 2: Once you have mixed all the powders, then you will want to add the orange oil while the mix is still in the glass bowl. Y

Add the orange oil slowly as you are mixing and then you want to mix all the ingredients together well. Once they have been mixed well, then place the bowl in the fridge again.

Step 3: When you are ready to create the candy, you are going to want to melt the coconut oil.

You do this by placing a double boiler over the stove and gently heat to medium the oil. You want the coconut oil to melt but not so hot that it burns.

Step 4: Once you have the oil melted, add 1/2 cup of the liquid sugar and stir until you have thick fructose corn syrup. You want the syrup to be a liquid.

Step 5: Once you have that thick syrup, you will add 1 cup of corn syrup and 1/2 cup of the water.

You will want to work slowly as the corn syrup is not as thick as the syrup and the water may add more water than you need. You add the water little by little so that it will form a syrup.

Step 6: Once the water is incorporated, you then want to add the glycerin slowly until you get the desired consistency. You want the candy to be not too syrupy and not too dry.

Step 7: You then want to add the gluten-free baking soda into the bowl and mix it well with the mixture. You want the baking soda to be evenly mixed throughout the mixture. You want the mixture to be thick but not too thick or it will not take well to the mixture.

Step 8: Once you have the candy all mixed well, you will need to add black food coloring. You want the color to be evenly mixed throughout the mixture. Make sure it is mixed really well.

Step 9: Once you have the candies mixed, you can now add the orange oil. You want to add this to the glass bowl slowly. You want to add the orange oil in small amounts. You want the orange oil to be evenly mixed.

Step 10: After you have added the orange oil, you do not want to mix the mixture any more. You want to leave the mixture for a day or so to let the mixture set.

The candy is now ready to be given out.

What is licorice candy?

Licorice candy recipe is a sweet treat made from grams of sugar corn syrup, glucose, gelatin, starch hydrolysate, form of flavoring and coloring agents. The variety of flavors comes from glycyrrhizin, which gives the drink a salty aftertaste.

The three major types of licorice chewy candy are black, red, and white.

1. Gluten free black licorice candy tree gluten is made from the root of the sweet Aloe Vera plant, which is also known as “Aloe Vera gel”.

Aloe is a type of a succulent plant that is used as a traditional medicine in Ayurvedic medicine, and is also used to make soap, beauty products, and dietary supplements.

2. Red pail of licorice candy is made from the pod of the sweet Euphorbia, which is also known as “Euphorbia resin”. Euphorbias are a family of flowering plants that can be found throughout the world.

They are distinct because of their tiny, bright flowers, thorny stems, and thick, fleshy leaves.

3. White licorice recipe candy is made from the sap of the root of the Glycyrrhiza plant. Glycyrrhizin is a chemical compound found in the root’s sap of the Glycyrrhiza plant.

The compound tastes sweet, though it is the least sweet of all the natural sugar mixture. It also tastes kind of salty.

Final Thoughts

Licorice can be enjoyed if you have an intolerance to gluten. But if you are allergic to gluten, licorice is not recommended.

While it can be found in small amounts in certain food item, it should be avoided if you are eating a gluten-free diet.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *