Is Mead Gluten Free?
What Exactly Is Mead?
Mead is a fermented beverage that has been used since ancient times. Mead is an alcoholic type of beverage made by fermenting sweet liquid with honey, water, and yeast. Mead contains alcohol levels ranging between 5% and 15%.
It also contains vitamins and minerals that enhance its health benefits.
The honey used in mead production is derived from the nectar of plants such as lemongrass, clover, alfalfa, and scented pine trees.
Researchers found out that people who consumed two glasses of mead every day experienced less anxiety and depression.
This article will explain if mead contains gluten, how does it affect the body, and how it can help you achieve a better body image.
We also have an article here about Is Sparkling Ice Healthy that you would like to know!
What is gluten?
Gluten is a mix of proteins that act as glue to help the dough rise and keep it from crumbling.
It is in most cereal grains, including wheat, barley, rye, and oat, but it is in the highest concentration in wheat. It gives elasticity to dough and helps a baked product rise and keep its shape.
Some people who have a hard time digesting gluten may not eat baked products that contain protein.
In people with celiac sufferers’ disease, gluten intake damages the small intestine and prevents the absorption of nutrients from gluten-free food.
Is Rum Gluten-Free? Find Out Here!
Does Mead have gluten?
Mead is gluten-free because they made it from honey instead of a variety of grains. Mead is a honey wine that is a low-alcohol alternative to craft beer barrels and wine.
It is a traditional gluten-free alcoholic drink in Europe and Asia and also gaining popularity in North America.
Gluten-free organizations have certified it such as the American Celiac Disease Alliance and the Gluten Intolerance Group.
As mentioned above, it does not make mead with the choice of gluten-containing ingredients. However, when the fermentation process occurs, some residual starch may remain in the product.
This residue might cause discomfort for those with Celiac Disease.
Good to know! Is Champagne Gluten Free?
How to make Gluten Free Mead?
Step 1 – Read the ingredients of all ingredients to make sure they are foods gluten-free.
Step 2 – Bring water to a boil.
Step 3 – Add honey to the boiling water.
Step 4 – Add yeast.
Step 5 – Allow cooling to 70 degrees Fahrenheit.
Step 6 – Add all ingredients, including honey.
Step 7 – Strain out raisins.
Step 8 – Bottle the mead.
Step 9 – Store in a cool, dark place for at least one month.
Benefits of gluten free meads
- Consumption of mead helps reduce stress and anxiety compared with other drinks.
- The amount of antioxidants present in mead are higher than any other drink on the market today. The antioxidant power in mead helps improve heart health.
- One glass of mead can provide your daily dose of vitamin C. In fact, a glass of mead provides more Vitamin C than orange juice!
- This means mead is very healthy and should definitely be added to your diet.
If you want to get started with creating delicious meads, there are many resources available online, which include recipes, brewing instructions, and even equipment.
Make sure to try out these amazing meads!
Mead is gluten-free. Honey is not a grain, which is what contains gluten. They make Mead from honey. Therefore, mead is gluten-free diet.
Mead is one of the healthiest alcoholic beverage categories you can drink. Besides its alcohol content is lower than beer, mead is relatively high in vitamins, antioxidants, and minerals.
Add to this the fact that alcohol can have a negative effect on your health, and mead is a great alternative.
Read Next: Is Root Beer Gluten Free?
Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!