Skip to content

Are Nerds Vegan? Find Out Here!

Are Nerds Vegan? Find Out Here!

Are Nerds Vegan?

Are Nerds Vegan?

Nerds is a sour-ish, tangy candy made with apple cider vinegar and water. It’s the perfect way to get your daily dose of vitamin C!

The candy company has been around since 1892, but it wasn’t until the 1980s that they started making nerdy sweeter candies. Most people like grape, orange, cherry, and strawberry. They’re also gluten-free, kosher, and non-GMO.

If you think Nerds is vegan, then yes, it is. However, there are some ingredients in Nerds that aren’t vegan-friendly.

The first ingredient is apple cider vinegar which comes from pressed apples. Apples come from fruit trees that don’t grow on vines. They thrive on their roots and can be found growing wild.

So basically, they are not considered agricultural products. That said, most people who have never tried Nerds before had no idea this was in the drink.

The next ingredient is sugar. Sugar is added for flavoring and carbonation. But since it’s not organic or natural, I will say no.

Next up is the lemon juice. This one isn’t too bad, as lemons are grown in soil. But still, it’s not organic, so it’s not good either.

Now let’s talk about the last two ingredient list in Nerds: salt and baking soda. Baking soda is used to help neutralize the acidity of the apple cider vinegar. And salt helps give the drink natural flavors.

These anti-animal ingredients are fine if used correctly, but unfortunately, many companies misuse them. Some add baking soda directly into the bottle of Nerds while others put it into the glass. Either way, it’s just plain wrong.

Are Nerds Never Vegan?

There are vegan options out there. You can find vegan versions of Nerds at stores like Whole Foods Market. These drinks contain only water and apple cider vinegar. There are also other brands of Nerds that are entirely vegan.

For example, Kombucha has a brand called “Kombucha Vinegar.” It contains only apple cider vinegar and water and is 100% vegan.

Moreover, you can make your version of Nerds using an equal amount of white distilled vinegar and water.

Red 4 Food Coloring In Nerds

Red 4 Food Coloring In Nerds

Nerds come in different colors. Red 4 food coloring is one of those colors alongside Blue 1 Lake. If you want to know more about red four food coloring, read more.

Food coloring is safe for kids and adults alike. It’s non-toxic and won’t cause any harm to anyone consuming it.

However, we recommend diluting the colorant with water before adding it to the apple cider vinegar. Otherwise, you may end up with a very dark-colored drink.

Does Nerds Have Gelatin?

Does Nerds Have Gelatin?

No, Nerds do not contain gelatin. In fact, according to the label, it does not have anything else besides apple cider vinegar and water (and maybe some white sugar).

Nerds are made of all-natural ingredients. Therefore, they’re entirely free of additives, artificial flavors, preservatives, dyes, and GMOs.

Do Nerds Contain Pork?

Most likely, no. Apple cider vinegar is made from fermented apple juice. Fermentation is when yeast converts sugars into alcohol. Since apple cider vinegar doesn’t contain any animal products, the morsels of candy cannot contain pork.

Do Nerds Contain Dairy?

No, Nerds candy vegan do not contain dairy. Apple cider vinegar is naturally acidic; therefore, it does not need to be fortified with calcium.

Moreover, apple cider vinegar is low in fat and cholesterol. It’s also high in fiber and potassium. All of these nutrients are great for your health.

Are Big Chewy Nerds Vegan?

Yes, there are vegan options available for big chewy nerds. They’re usually sold in larger bottles than regular tart Nerds candy, one of the most popular candies.

For example, there’s a brand called “Big Chew,” which comes in 32-ounce and 64-ounce sizes. This gummy candy also comes in several other flavors, including orange, pink strawberry-flavored Nerds candy, and grape flavor.

You can read more about this sugary candy on their website.

Are Nerds Gummy Clusters Vegan?

Are Nerds Gummy Clusters Vegan

As mentioned, there are vegan gummies available for Nerds favorite candies. However, they don’t taste exactly like the real thing.

They’re still delicious, though. Just remember to buy them in smaller quantities so you don’t get too much American candy with sugar crystals.

The Nerds Gummy Clusters are mostly corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil, soy lecithin, and artificial flavoring.

Are Nerds Ropes Vegan?

Are Nerds Ropes Vegan?

There are also vegan candy options for Nerds ropes. The most popular ones are probably the “Vegan” and “Paleo” varieties.

These ropes are made from coconut flour, tapioca starch, and xanthan gum. They’re also gluten-free.

If you’d instead go with something more traditional, you should try the original Nerds rope. This one is made from potato starch and tapioca starch.

According to the manufacturer, the original Nerds rope contains no artificial flavors or colors. They also claim that it has zero grams of trans fats. So, if you are vegan ad you want to avoid trans fats, then this might be the perfect option for you.

Are Nerds Gluten Free?

Unfortunately, Nerds aren’t 100% gluten-free. According to the label, they contain wheat, barley, rye, oats, and malt extract.

However, they’re certified gluten-free by the FDA. That means that they’ve been tested and found to be safe for people who are sensitive to gluten.

So, if you’re looking for an alternative snack that’s gluten-free, then you should give crunchy Nerds candy a shot.


To conclude, there are vegan options for classic candy Nerds. You have to know where to look. Just make sure that you check the labels before buying. If you see anything questionable, then you shouldn’t purchase those crunchy candies.

Also, keep in mind that some companies use different types of sweeteners. Some may even use sugar instead of honey.

That being said, we hope this article helped you determine whether Nerds are vegan.

Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!


Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *