Skip to content

Are Oreos Dairy Free? Find Out Here!

  • Amy 

Does Oreo Contain Dairy?

Oreos are delicious cookies loaded with cream cheese frosting. They are also a guilty pleasure snack because of their high sugar content. The question then arises: Do they contain dairy?

You’ve probably heard people argue that there is milk powder in these cookies. However, this isn’t true.

In fact, Oreos are mostly made of fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil, artificial vegan food coloring, salt, leavening agents, and flavorings.

This means they are almost completely free of dairy list of ingredients.

The dough used in Oreo cookies doesn’t contain any mention of dairy products. Also, the filling is made with vegetable oil, the majority of palm oil.

If you want to eat healthier, limit your intake of refined sugars. Instead, switch to natural sweeteners such as honey and stevia.

If you’d like to learn more about Oreos, check out my article and keep on reading…

Are Oreos safe for dairy allergies?

Yes, they are safe because they do not contain milk! They are also safe for vegans, vegetarians, gluten-free, and lactose-intolerant people.

Oreos are safe for those who are allergic to dairy milk, however, we recommend avoiding eating them at night when you go to bed because they may be harder to digest and cause heartburn.

However, for children with milder real food allergies, especially those who are milk allergic to egg white proteins, I would stay away from them.

They contain traces of milk; they contain wheat, eggs, and gelatin which may be problematic for some people and cause serious reactions.

What is an Oreo?

Oreos are a cookie that is named after them, Oreo. The name came from the name, oreo, which is the name of the Greek word for cookie.

The cookie comprises two sandwich-like cookies which are unsweetened chocolate flavored. The filling of the cookie is a vanilla-flavored cream.

The Ingredient in Oreos

  • The base of classic Oreos is the wafer cookie. The wafer is a very simple cookie. It is made of a tiny amount of ingredients and is relatively flat.
  • The ingredients of the wafer are flour, sugar, shortening, glass of milk, and vanilla. These ingredients combine to make a very simple cookie.
  • The creamy middle of the cookie is the filling. The cream is a very simple cream. It is also made by using three ingredients: milk, cream, and icing sugar.
  • The chocolate is a wafer which is covered by chocolate, hence the name wafer, chocolate. The chocolate is made of white sugar, cocoa, and cocoa butter.

How do you make Oreos?

There are many takes on how to bake success with Oreos. Some cookie makers are a bit more innovative and go for a different recipe or combination of ingredients.

Some recipes make the cookies out of wafers. This means they have two layers, the wafers, and the creamy center filling. Others have just one layer of wafer sandwiched between the filling.

Some cookie makers prefer to make original Oreos with other ingredients such as biscuits. This selection of Oreos requires slightly distinct steps and the cookies do not hold together as well.

Other recipes use half wafers and half-ready-made chocolate. This can make the cookies simpler to make, especially if you don’t have all the ingredients to make regular Oreos.

You can absolutely make actual Oreos. The ingredients are simple and as long as you have the oven on and a bowl and a spoon, you can make mini Oreos.

I would say about 45 minutes to make a package of Oreos. If you do not chill the cookies the cookies will not hold together.

Are Oreo cookies vegan?

Yes, they are vegan! They contain no milk, eggs, or butter. However, they contain canola oil, which may cause some people to feel queasy.

They are made from plant-based ingredients such as rice flour, potato starch, tapioca starch, corn starch, dextrose, natural flavors, cocoa butter, lecithin, and carrageenan.

Oreos are made using milk chocolate. Milk chocolate contains dairy ingredients such as whey powder and casein. The cookie itself doesn’t contain any animal ingredient list at all.

How to make vegan oreo milkshake?

Lately, it seems like there is a milkshake for every season.

Hot summer days call for lemonade, the Winter means an icy cold milkshake and, of course, Autumn and Spring mean the cold creamy milkshake that we are used to.

We have just entered Spring, and we all know that the best time of year is the milkshake season.

Today we are going to look at a vegan oreo milkshake.

A simple recipe which anyone can use to make delicious milkshakes without the hassle of making it in a restaurant.

Ingredients:

  • An Oreo® sandwich cookie,
  • 3⁄4 cup of milk,
  • 3⁄4 cup of ice cream,
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar,
  • 2 tablespoons of cocoa

Preparation:

  • Scoop out the ice cream into a bowl. Add cocoa and sugar. Mix it well.
  • Add all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Enjoy your Vegan Oreo Milkshake!

Final Thoughts

Oreo cookies do not contain any of the eight major allergens, such as wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, eggs, fish, and crustaceans. However, several boxes of Oreo cookies contain wheat and soy.

Oreos are vegan. If you are allergic, intolerant, or sensitive to any of the ingredients in recall on Oreos or other Nabisco products, consult your healthcare provider if you are unsure of whether the product is appropriate for you.

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published.

nv-author-image

Amy Toliver

Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own! On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!