Skip to content

Are Sun-Maid Raisins Gluten-Free? – Let’s Find Out!

  • Amy 

Sunmaid raisins are a popular brand of dried fruit. Known for tasting sweet, yet counting as a healthy fruit snack, this begs the question. How are these fruit products so sweet? What are they adding, and how does it affect those with a severe food allergy?

Are Sun-Maid Raisins Gluten-Free?

Are Sunmaid raisins gluten free? Yes! Dried fruit is naturally gluten free. Sun Maid raisins California natural has no gluten, no grams of sugar, or anything concerning on the ingredient list. However, always check to be sure of cross contamination risks. 

If you’re on a gluten free diet, then most fruit is safe and a great way to get what your body needs. A few servings of fruit is unlikely to result in gluten ataxia, or other upset stomachs from a gluten intolerance. Although gluten ataxia is perhaps the worst case scenario.

Benefits of Raisins

Other fruits may be poor item replacements for premium quality raisins. Organic raisins are good for your teeth, are a low fat food, and among the best antioxidant foods. Sun dried raisins are not only a tasty and versatile food, but great for your health too. 

Sour Sunmaid Snacks

Sun maid golden raisins come in a variety of flavors, sour and sweet. With no artificial flavors or additives, you can enjoy these types of items easily when you shop for products online or at individual retailers in person. 

Sun maid raisins offer a sour mixed berry with no artificial flavors. For those with celiac disease or a low calorie diet, you’ll be glad to know this contains no sugar and minimal grams of fat. There is nothing stopping these organic raisins being enjoyed to their fullest. 

Sour Sunmaid Snacks

Sweeter Sunmaid Snacks

For those with a sweet tooth, sun maid raisins also produce a peach flavored product. Unlike gritty raisins, which make poor replacements of sun maid raisins, these sweet things are enjoyed near universally. Sun maid raisins and their sun dried raisins are popular for a reason after all.

If you really dislike gritty raisins or the texture of organic raisins, why not try sun maid yoghurt covered raisins, or even your favorite milk chocolate raisin. Sun maid raisins offer both, by covering their high quality raisins and natural foods. 

This versatile food is a popular item, thanks to the unique raisin flavor and it being a gluten free item. Regular raisins are also great for your teeth, and promote good dental hygiene with these very mainstream products. 

Is There a Contamination Risk?

While yes, there is a cross contamination risk during packaging and transport of these snacks, you’re unlikely to ever get peace of mind. All gluten free products will contain an allergen statement that usually relates to a potential for contamination, at least those not specialised in producing gluten free foods.

Are Sun-Maid Raisins Gluten-Free?

Real fruit, tree nuts, and even sun dried raisins can be contaminated. While fresh raisins have no risk, organic raisins packed in a factory or similar condition may be brought into contact to the gluten protein from other packed products. 

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nv-author-image

Amy Toliver

Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own! On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!