Is Tabasco Gluten Free? Let’s Find Out!Danica Rojero
What Is Tabasco?
Tabasco is a brand of hot sauce made from tabasco peppers, vinegar, and salt. Tabasco sauce is a delicious red sauce that is a staple of many meals.
Edmund McIlhenny, a Maryland-born former banker who moved to Louisiana around 1840, founded the company in 1869.
McIlhenny initially called his sauce “Tabasco Brand Pepper Sauce.”
Does Tabasco have gluten in it?
They label many foods gluten-free. As you can see above, there is gluten in the categories “spices” and “sweets and confections”
While Tabasco has many products that are gluten-free, they do not have a gluten-free product labeled specifically.
Tabasco contains celery salt and smoked salt, which are all non-gluten-free. This is because the celery salt and smoked salt are used to season the spice or blend the spice.
How about tabasco sauce?
However, the Tabasco sauce is not gluten-free. One of the main ingredients is vinegar. Vinegar, as we all know, has gluten in it. This versatile sauce contains 22.89 grams of gluten per serving (28g).
Tabasco flavorful sauce has no carbohydrates and no gluten, making it a brilliant choice as a dipping sauce for your favorite grilled meats and veggies, as well as a condiment on your favorite sandwiches.
Although Tabasco is mainly derived from cayenne pepper, it still has a small amount of carbohydrates (10 grams in 30ml) as maltodextrin.
Maltodextrin is found in many foods, including many processed foods. They also added it to some gluten-free foods by manufacturers to make them more sticky and enhance the flavor.
What about other Tabasco products?
They made Tabasco sauce mild using macerated peppers. The maximum gluten content in these peppers is 4.4mg per serving.
This is less than 1/12th of the 22.89 grams which are in Tabasco hottest sauce. This means that Tabasco sauce gluten free and hot sauce has practically zero gluten.
Tabasco has stated on their website that their product is free of gluten and barley. Tabasco has clearly stated that they are gluten free.
However, you don’t really know what is in the product until you consume it. If you have Celiac disease, then the sauce is not really an option.
But, if you are a normal person who enjoys hot sauce gluten, then you can simply stick to the Tabasco Spicy sweet sauce. The key ingredient in Tabasco Spicy sauce is cayenne pepper and has zero gluten.
Are most hot sauces gluten-free?
If you’ve ever eaten a hot sauce, you may have noticed that it has a pretty thick consistency.
It is very difficult to pour out of any bottle, but most hot sauces are gluten-free, so most hot sauce bottles are also gluten-free.
So, are most hot sauces gluten-free? Not all. As with many things in life, there is no one-size-fits-all rule.
For example, if you are allergic to gluten, it is most likely best to avoid foods that are processed in equipment that also process gluten.
If you are not allergic to gluten, most hot sauces are most likely gluten-free.