Tag - grains

Is Basmati Rice Gluten Free?

Yes, basmati rice is gluten free. It has been certified by Gluten Free Certification Organization as gluten free. Basmati rice contains no wheat, barley, or rye. Basmati Rice is one of the oldest types of rice out there. This has been used for centuries to make some of the best dishes in India. Some of these dishes include dal makhani, chana masala, and butter chicken. People with celiac disease are safe to eat this type of rice because it does not contain [...]

Read more...

Is Rice Flour Gluten Free?

Rice flour is not usually considered gluten free. However, some brands do contain gluten, and they should be avoided by those who suffer from celiac disease. This rice flour base is commonly used in Asian cooking for making dumplings or spring rolls. It can also be mixed with other flours to make a more versatile dough that will hold together well when rolled out into flat sheets. The best way to tell if the product you’re buying contains any wheat at all [...]

Read more...