Skip to content

Are Sun Chips Vegetarian?

Are Sun Chips Vegetarian?

The answer is yes! The original flavored Sunchips are vegetarian-friendly. This means they don’t contain animal-derived ingredients and are suitable for vegetarians.

As far as the remaining Sunchips flavors, they may not be technically vegan but they are safe for vegetarians. That being said, some people may have concerns regarding certain ingredients so it is always important to refer to the label before purchasing.

Regardless, with the original flavored Sunchips, you can rest assured that you’re getting a delicious snack that’s 100% vegetarian-friendly!

Are Sun chips Vegan?

The sad news is that most flavors of Sunchips are non-vegan. Only one of the current offerings is vegan, and that’s the Original flavor.

All other flavors like French Onion, Garden Salsa, Harvest Cheddar, and Chili Lime Flavor contain dairy (and in some cases, honey) and are not vegan-friendly.

If you’re looking for a vegan snack option, you may want to try another brand besides Sunchips since they only offer one truly vegan-friendly flavor. However, if you don’t mind consuming dairy, there are still many delicious options from this brand!

Are Original Sunchips Vegan?

The original flavor of Sunchips is technically vegan-friendly, as it doesn’t contain any animal-derived ingredients. However, there may be two potential issues that vegans might want to consider before consuming this product.

The first comes from the sugar used in Original Sunchips. In the United States often cane sugar is filtered through animal charred bones during processing to make sugar bright white.

While this sugar does not contain bone char, some vegans may be troubled by this knowledge and choose not to consume it.

The second issue comes from the natural flavor used in Original Sunchips.

Natural flavor can be produced from either plant or animal sources and will only appear as an allergen if sourced from animals, so one cannot tell without consulting with the company that produces it if it has been sourced from an acceptable source for vegans.

Therefore, while Original Sunchips are not certified vegan and have potential issues identifying with strict vegans, they contain no animal-derived ingredients and could still be considered an option by those who might consider them suitable for their dietary requirements.

Is Sunchips Dairy-free?

The original flavor of Sunchips does not use any dairy products and would be considered suitable for vegetarians, so yes, Sunchips are usually dairy-free.

However, keep in mind that cross-contamination of dairy may occur in the production or packaging process.

For those who need to avoid milk ingredients altogether, you should double-check the product packaging for up-to-date ingredient information as new flavors can be added at any time and recipes for current flavors may change.

If a label reads “may contain trace amounts of milk” then it may not be suitable for people with severe dairy allergies.

Vegan-Friendly Sunchips Varieties

The original sunchips flavors are free from dairy and honey, making them suitable for vegans.

However, the other Sunchips flavors contain either dairy and/or honey in them, which makes them non-vegetarian options. So if you want to stick with a vegan-friendly option, make sure to check out the ingredients label before purchasing!

Non-Vegan Sunchips Varieties

Sweet Potato and Brown Sugar

Sadly, Sunchips’ Sweet Potato and Brown Sugar variety is not vegan due to the inclusion of milk additives. This variety contains both butter (cream) and honey, which are two ingredients that are not suitable for vegetarians.

Harvest Cheddar

Sunchips’ Harvest Cheddar flavor is not vegan. Unfortunately, it contains a variety of animal derivatives as ingredients, such as whey, whey protein concentrate, buttermilk, and skim milk. The cheddar cheese includes cow’s milk, cheese cultures, salt, and enzymes.

Additionally, the crunchy snack also contains Romano cheese and Parmesan cheese which contain milk, cheese cultures salts, and enzymes. Therefore if you’re looking for vegan-friendly snacks then this may not be the best option for you.

Garden Salsa

Unfortunately, Sun Chips’ Garden Salsa flavored chips are not vegan.

This was a real disappointment, as you would expect a product such as this to contain only plant-derived ingredients.

However, these chips include various animal-derived ingredients such as Cheese Cultures, Romano Cheese (Part-Skim Cow’s Milk, Salt, Whey, Buttermilk, Cheese Cultures, Enzymes), Enzymes), Salt, Whey Protein Concentrate, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Corn Oil and Spices (Including Jalapeno Pepper).

Therefore if you’re looking for vegan options then sadly this snack is off the menu.


Are Chili Lime Sunchips Vegan-Friendly?

The Chili Lime Sunchips flavor is unfortunately not vegan as it contains buttermilk. This means that those of us trying to follow a vegan lifestyle should opt for another flavor.

Are French Onion Sunchips Good For Vegans?

French Onion flavored Sunchips are not suitable for vegans due to a variety of dairy products contained in the ingredients.

The full list of ingredients in this flavor includes:

Sour cream (cream, butter (cream and annatto), spices (including parsley and paprika), natural flavors, brown rice flour, salt, skim milk, onion powder, gum acacia, maltodextrin (made from corn and potato), brown sugar, whole oat flour, mozzarella cheese (milk, whey protein concentrate, whole wheat, salt enzymes), sunflower and/or canola oil, whole corn, skim milk, sugar, cultures), cheddar cheese (milk cheese cultures salt enzymes) and green onion powder., cheese cultures

Are Garden Salsa Sunchips Vegan-Friendly?

Unfortunately, the answer is no. Even though the salsa in them is as vegan as you can get, they contain an abundance of dairy products that make them unsuitable for a vegan diet. 


Paprika Extracts, Salt, Sugar, Tomato Powder, Citric Acid, Salt, Sunflower And/Or Canola Oil, Whey, Onion Powder, Enzymes), Salt, Corn Oil, Lactic Acid., Cheese Cultures, Whole Corn, Yeast Extract, Dextrose, Natural Flavors, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Buttermilk, Enzymes), Spices (Including Jalapeño Pepper), Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Whey Protein Concentrate, Whole Wheat, Whole Oat Flour, Cheese Cultures, Romano Cheese (Part-Skim Cow’s Milk, Brown Rice Flour

Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *