Skip to content

Is Dairy Free The Same As Lactose Free? Read Here!

Is Dairy Free The Same As Lactose Free? Read Here!

Is Dairy Free The Same As Lactose Free?

The main difference between the two is in how the food is prepared. Lactose free food is completely made out of natural ingredients.

Is Dairy Free The Same As Lactose Free?

Therefore if somebody was allergic to lactose they would eat a dairy free product even though it had lactose in it.

A lot of people are confused about the main difference between dairy free and lactose free. A lot of dairy products like milk and cheese contain something called lactose and so dairy products whether whole or powdered have to be removed before they can be consumed by someone who has lactose intolerance.

People who are lactose intolerant cannot digest lactose and so suffer when they consume dairy products.

Learn more here Is Dairy Free Vegan?

What causes lactose intolerance?

There are a number of reasons why people may have lactose intolerance, some may have an inherited gene. In other cases, certain medications taken during pregnancy or while in the womb may cause lactose intolerance.

What causes lactose intolerance?

Allergies and intolerances can have a serious impact on a person’s life. Some people may spend hours, days, and even months trying to find food that they are comfortable with.

With more and more people identifying as lactose intolerant, it is becoming increasingly easier to find dairy free products.

Dairy free vs. Lactose-free dairy products

Most people are aware of the fact that you should avoid lactose in dairy. Most dairy products do contain lactose and so it is quite obvious that these are avoided.

On the other hand, dairy free products are somewhat less known and so it can be confusing as to whether a product is lactose free or not.

Just because a product is dairy free, does not mean it is lactose free. There are a lot of products that are very small and therefore may contain very little lactose.

Dairy free vs. Lactose-free dairy products


The main way that lactose intolerance occurs is when people who are lactose intolerant do not have the enzyme lactase, which is sometimes referred to as a “cheese digesting enzyme”.

There are a couple of other enzymes which are responsible for breaking down lactose, galactase, and invertase but the most well-known and most commonly produced in the lactase enzyme.

Generally speaking, dairy products are made by pasteurization. This process kills germs and bacteria which could cause serious illness. The lactose is then removed from the milk before it can be sold.

However, there are natural cheeses and dairy products that are made completely out of the milk of a goat or similar.

These cheeses and dairy products are still made by using pasteurization and removing the lactose from the milk.

However, during the pasteurization process, the bacteria which produce the lactase enzyme are killed by the heat of the pasteurization.

Therefore, these types of cheeses and dairy products are not considered to be “lactose-free”, however, they do not contain lactose and so are considered lactose intolerant.

What are the benefits of lactose-free milk?

Lactose-free milk has many health benefits. For example, lactose-free milk contains fewer calories than regular milk.

It also contains lower amounts of cholesterol and saturated fat.

In addition, lactose-free milk tends to be thicker and creamier than its regular counterparts.

What are the benefits of lactose-free milk?

Therefore, lactose-free dairy products are often used in cooking and baking. They are also ideal if you are following a low-carb diet.

Here is a list of milk lactose-free products:

  • Animal milk – real milk

Animal milk is usually the best option for those looking for lactose-free milk. It comes from cows, goats, and sheep.

  • Almond milk

This milk has a good source of calcium and vitamin D. Almonds are rich in magnesium, zinc, and copper.

  • Breast milk

Breast milk is a great choice for babies. Breast milk provides all the nutrients needed for growth and development.

  • A2 milk

The A2 milk has naturally-occurring calcium that can help build strong bones and teeth. It is recommended for growing children.

  • Almond milk yogurt

Almond yogurt milk is commonly used for healthy diet programs. Many people use this type of milk to replace regular milk in their diets.

  • Coconut milk

Many milk manufacturers used coconut milk instead of cow’s milk to make their dairy products. Coconut milk is high in protein and low in carbohydrates.

  • Dairy-free milk

Dairy free milk has no dairy allergies that can affect your health. Some people prefer to avoid dairy products because of their allergic reactions.

  • Derivative milk powder milk

This milk has nutritional differences amongst the different brands. You need to read the label carefully to find the right one for you.

  • Engineered lactose-free milk

The engineered lactose-free milk is a product that has been modified to remove lactose without affecting its taste.

  • Fat milk solids milk

The solids milk protein milk is another alternative to regular milk. It is very popular among vegetarians.

vegetarian diets love this milk due to its high content of iron.

  • Organic horizon lactose-free milk

This milk is produced with organic farming methods. The milk has no additives and is safe for consumption.

  • Organic valley lactose-free milk

It is organic milk that is produced with natural farming methods. This milk does not contain any hormones or antibiotics.

  • Whey powder milk

Whey powder milk is a product that uses whey protein concentrate. Whey protein is derived from cheese making.

Find out here Is Soy Milk Gluten Free?

Cure for lactose intolerance

If you suffer from lactose intolerance, you may want to try using lactase enzyme supplements. These enzymes will break down the lactose into glucose and galactose.

Cure for lactose intolerance

These products are available at most pharmacies and supermarkets. However, before taking them, consult your doctor first.

You should take lactase supplements once daily. Take the dose 30 minutes before eating anything containing lactose.

Take note that lactase supplements are only effective when taken on a regular basis. Therefore, you must continue

Final thoughts

To recap, the main difference between dairy free and lactose free is that lactose free food is made completely out of natural ingredients.

If a food is not made completely of food that naturally produces lactase, then the food is not considered lactose free.

Foods that have a milk product in them, but which does not contain lactose are considered lactose free.

Products that naturally produce lactase but are heated to kill it during pasteurization are not considered lactose free.

Hey'all I'm Amy, a born foodie and diagnosed with celiac disease 7 years ago. I refused to cave into tasteless, boring gulten free food and create my own!
On my blog you'll find info & cool facts along with recipes, all on gluten free foods!

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *